The one IMPORTANT thing pre-meds are missing... Short and sweet.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Planes2Doc

I enjoy the nightlife
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've come a pretty long way since starting the pre-med journey. I'm now a PGY-1 internal medicine resident aspiring to do critical care. There is something that I realized only recently that is of utmost importance, and something that pre-meds do not even think about. What is it?

SYSTEMS-BASED PRACTICE

I won't go into details, but will ask you to try and answer two very important questions:

1. As an internal medicine resident, I want you to tell me why I do not need to feed the patient, bathe the patient, clean up the patient, administer the patient's medications before rounds. Also, why am I able to take my time jotting down labs and taking a leisurely stroll to the emergency department when there in a new admit?

2. I want you to self-reflect right now as a pre-med. I want you to be true to yourself and be realistic about your goals. I want you to look up systems-based practice and understand what it means in healthcare, and what it means to you right now as a pre-med aspiring to get into medical school. Now I want you to see how you can make your journey to getting into medical school better; given the challenges, competition, and possible severe consequences you may face if you don't make it in.

With that said, I want you to remember this: You can take it easy now and work hard for the rest of your life, or you can work hard now and take it easy for the rest of your life. The latter is the better option, and good luck to everyone.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 11 users