Thesis defense coming up

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

miscalculated

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I have my PhD thesis defense coming up in 3 weeks. Wonder if anyone who's been through it already has any tips? My main concern is being motivated now that I'm starting peds tomorrow. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone, I have my PhD thesis defense coming up in 3 weeks. Wonder if anyone who's been through it already has any tips? My main concern is being motivated now that I'm starting peds tomorrow. Thanks.
How far along have you gotten in preparing for it?

My suggestion is that you make yourself a timeline with tasks to do each week and day. Start by going to the grad school and department websites to find out what their requirements are (i.e., how long the talk has to be, do you have to post flyers inviting the public to come, when do you have to give your committee members their copies of your thesis by, etc.) That will help you be organized and get everything done on time.

Don't blow off all those stupid little requirements from the grad school, no matter how irrelevant they may be and how tempted you are to ignore them. Hell hath no fury like a grad school bureaucrat scorned. :hungover:

Congrats on finishing, and best of luck with your defense. :)

Members don't see this ad :)
Wonder if anyone who's been through it already has any tips?

Make sure you're defended and deposited before you go back to clinics. I went back to clinics on Pediatrics and it was a bit of a nightmare.

Oops... You're going back before defending. :( Not sure what to tell you. Who knows what curve-balls you might be thrown. I guess there's always 4th year to make revisions and fix things up :)

Reactions: 1 user