1. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

Thinking ahead- recommendations

Discussion in 'Psychology [Psy.D. / Ph.D.]' started by NYCPsych, Apr 23, 2007.

1. NYCPsych

NYCPsych Clinical Psy.D.
    5+ Year Member

Psychology Student
    Hi everyone,

I graduated from college in '05 & will be applying to Psy.D. programs this Fall. It seems like most schools request 3 recommendations- and only 3. I'm thinking about whom I'd like to ask, and they're as follows (good relationships with all) :

1. My current supervisor (clinical research- definitely a yes)
    2. 2 college professors from '04 and/or '05 (at least 1 is a yes, to discuss academic work, right?)
    3. Supervisor at my previous job (non-profit case management- very clinically oriented)
    4. Supervisor at summer internship '04 (NICHD- somewhat more research oriented)

Sooo my dilemma is that I want to choose 3 very representative people, in order to form a comprehensive picture. I'd also like the recommendations to be well-written, and from well-respected people. I am really running the risk of sounding pretentious, but all the above people have Ph.D.s except for #3. She is only 2 years older than I am (has a B.A.), was an OK writer, & doesn't have much more experience in the field than I do. I may be getting caught up in the rumor that "hot-shot" recommendations are more valuable...
    FYI, current supervisor & professors have degrees in clinical psych & child development. Internship supervisor's degree is in Population Dynamics.

Thoughts? What's the best combo of recommendations?

Many thanks to everyone who's so supportive on this forum.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Duckygirl

Duckygirl Back on the saddle
    5+ Year Member

Psychology Student
    NYCPsych~