Thoughts - Canadian Non-Trad

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

F_Steve

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'm a 31 year old, male Canadian who is looking to change careers and study medicine, and I was hoping for some feedback/thoughts from the members on the forum. I am currently a CPA/Senior Manager at a Big 4 accounting firm, focusing on audit. My career is relatively successful, but it's always been my dream to be a physician, and I figure that if I don't try it now, then I'll never try it.

I graduated from a Canadian university with a Bachelor of Commerce in 2006 (3.56/4.0 GPA) and a Master's in economics from a top UK university (think Oxbridge) in 2007 with about a 70% average.

I haven't taken any science courses since high school, so I'd be starting out fresh with the Biology/Chemistry requirements (I have good grades from advanced Math courses in undergrad, plus English composition). I'm okay with leaving my job because I now have some financial stability, and I want to pursue my dream of being a doctor.

To sum it up, here are the stats:

1) GPA - about 3.5/4.0 undergrad and 70% grad school (unrelated to science)
2 ) Extracurricular - little to none. All my spare time outside of work (which is already a very time consuming profession) was spent managing my small portfolio of properties (recently sold for a modest windfall, so I'm ok with leaving the job), and I didn't really pursue any EC activities since undergrad.
3) Shadowing - Nope...never did anything like this

As I mentioned, if I go down this path then I will have to take all the science pre-requisites, write the MCAT and probably look to applying at a DO school (which is fine by me) or even an Israeli MD program (I speak the language fairly well and I am familiar with the country - not sure how competitive it is to get into one of these programs).