Thoughts on Non-trad Route?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rhodium

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

Long story short -
I graduated high school with ~48 credits (from AP and college courses at community college)
Went to nursing school, picking up some nursing credits (about 45)
Came back and did 1 semester in engineering (12 credits)
Withdrew early in semester, and started alternate degree program
Finishing pre-reqs at community college/ wrapping up degree

So, the questions:

Will withdrawal from the semester of engineering to switch degree programs be viewed as a super negative factor on an application? (I understand they generally are)? Yet I feel that I could justify the decision, if asked, as it let me keep my full time job in healthcare and accelerate my degree path to medical school (I can complete the remaining requirements for my new degree in less than half the time of the engineering program).

Will the fact that I have completed many of the science prerequisites at a good community college seriously negatively affect my application? I appreciate the standard answer to this (that someone took CC classes because they were "easier") but in my case, my university is primarily online and does not offer them - given my non-trad military/full time work I am not sure if this negative stereotype will still apply to me. For what its worth, I will also end with two A.S. degrees from the CC from transfer credit/prereqs.

I have not taken my MCAT (registered) but I have a 4.0 GPA, which will hopefully (if paired with a good MCAT score) help to balance the potential image of not "trying" hard enough in prerequisite courses...

So any thoughts on this?

Much appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: