To all the nurses who are now doing med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shunybuny

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

I am nursing student with plans of becoming a doctor one day. I am glad to come across a forum with people who share my same goals.

I was just curious what area of nursing did you work in before you started medical school? Do you think that working in nursing specialties such as critical care, med-surgical, or emergency medicine would be a good preparation for a nurse wanting to go into medicine?

Also, did any of you attend post-bacc programs or did you just take the required pre-med courses at a university?

I am open to all comments negative or positve. :clap:

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, I am in the UK so what I say may not be that useful to you in the US, but here goes.

I was a qualified nurse for 15 years before I started med school and my background was Critical Care nursing and some emergency care nursing as well. I also have a Bachelors and Masters degrees in Nursing and various other graduate certs.

There are about 30 nurses in our year of 260 med students and most of the nurses have backgrounds in critical care, emergency medicine and cardiology. However, there is also a palliative care nurse, an obstetric nurse and a community nurse as well as several psychiatric nurses.

Thanks, you were very helpful. :D

Members don't see this ad :)
Originally posted by shunybuny
Hi there,

I am nursing student with plans of becoming a doctor one day. I am glad to come across a forum with people who share my same goals.

I was just curious what area of nursing did you work in before you started medical school?
--------------------------------------------------
Emergency Nursing
----------------------------------------------------