To those in the know: when upper div bio

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drslc134

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey guys,
my experience is that a lot of posters will have at least a take or some educated insight into this...

i'm currently a sophomore, doing my year of general bio, though i'm in an interdisciplinary major, which sort of combines essential biology with the social sciences...as a junior, i will doing a lot of chem, and classes that probably wouldn't "count" as "upper division bio" classes as required by a number of medical schools (i.e. you be the judge on titles such as, "Epidemiology of Infectious Disease, Medical Ethics)...

In all likelihood, it will not be until autumn quarter of my senior year when I take biochem, and my first bio-dept. class other than labs in genetics of biological processes (up. div.)

Is this acceptable not to have taken any upper division hard-science bio stuff until senior year (aside: do we list future courses on the AMCAS), if I plan on applying at this time?

I know this is kind of a specifically-geared question...I hope you can all help me out...

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

drslc134 said:
hey guys,
my experience is that a lot of posters will have at least a take or some educated insight into this...

i'm currently a sophomore, doing my year of general bio, though i'm in an interdisciplinary major, which sort of combines essential biology with the social sciences...as a junior, i will doing a lot of chem, and classes that probably wouldn't "count" as "upper division bio" classes as required by a number of medical schools (i.e. you be the judge on titles such as, "Epidemiology of Infectious Disease, Medical Ethics)...

In all likelihood, it will not be until autumn quarter of my senior year when I take biochem, and my first bio-dept. class other than labs in genetics of biological processes (up. div.)