Upper Division Biology Elective P/F, Withdraw, or Gamble?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LordDerpulus

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi SDN,

I'm looking for advice on where to proceed with this. I'm currently in my 4th year taking a microbiology lab class as an upper-division biology elective. I've already completed my one year of biology and a separate biology lab in addition to all the other recommended stuff (genetics, physio, biochem) and done very well in all of them. Unfortunately, things have gone sour for this class. My optimistic prediction is a B, with a B- being likely and a C+ being plausible. My current sGPA and cGPA are both 3.97.

In the worst-case scenario, If I do end up getting a C+, it would drop my sGPA to 3.91. My deadline to decide to commit to P/F, a letter grade, or a W is on 11/13 at 11:59 PM.

I've never used a W or P/F before (except for classes that had mandatory P/F: a first-year seminar and an Ochem TA position)

Any thoughts or recommendations on what I should do? How do medical schools even look at P grades in a non pre-req science class anyway? I've heard all sorts of crazy rumors like some schools recalculating GPA to count a P as a C- but that sounds like people being neurotic.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Be very realistic with yourself, how likely is that C? If avoiding the C means getting high A grades for the rest of the term, something that hasn't happened so far in this class.. it won't be realistic to assume that will happen without some serious change in the way you are approaching the course.
That said, if it's a non-prereq and a class you don't need for your major, I would pass/fail. If a B was the most probable option I might be swayed to keep it but with the risk of a C? Yea I'd pass/fail. Wouldn't withdraw though because you are well above the pass threshold and can still complete the course.