too late for premed?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

williamChenry

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a 22 year old student who up until recently, hadn't had a clue or care about what I happened to do. Just recently, I've decided medicine is what I want to spend my career doing. But during my first few years of college, I didn't really do too well due to the fact that I was taking classes I thought didn't even benefit me and were no use for me. I even failed a few. So my GPA is in the 2's or maybe even high 1's... I read somewhere that if I take these classe over, it's still required that medical schools see the original grades anyways....so they'd still see a bunch of poor grades and F's.....Is there anyway to get a fresh , brand new start without having to pay for my past faults? or will no matter what, my past grades follow me around.??

I just wanna know if i have any options left?

Thanks,
William Henry

Members don't see this ad.

William, hows it going? Yes, there is still a chance for you to be a doctor and yes, your grades will follow you around for the rest of your life. If your GPA is in the high 1.--- than you have a lot of work to do.... multilple years. You are still quite young, so you have time on your side. If medicine is really what you want, then jump in and get started. But make sure it is truly your passion. Otherwise, your current dream will come to and end quickly. Have you shadowed any physicians, done volunteer work, job related medical experience to give you and understanding of what being a doctor will be like? Or have you seen and episode of House, M.D. and thought it looks cool? If its the latter, second guess why you are getting into this.