• Set Yourself Up For Success Webinar

October 6, 2021 at 2 PM Eastern/11 AM Pacific
    SDN and Osmosis are teaming up to help you get set up for success this school year! We'll be covering study tips, healthy habits, and meeting mentors.

Register Now!

• Site Updates Coming Soon

Site updates are coming next week on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Click the button below to learn more!

LEARN MORE

Too many stories for PS?

Jan 15, 2020
  1. Pre-Medical
Hey everyone. I graduated college in 2011 and my journey to medicine took me through public health first. I'm having quite a time trying to consolidate what I want to say into a personal statement. The first one was too "public health"-y, and now, after several more drafts, I'm just frustrated. I have lots of experiences and stories I could tell, but the advice I keep getting is conflicting. I tried to write chronologically and the ideas didn't fit together well, and then I tried to write the ideas, but then another reader commented that the chronology was weird. I'm not sure how to express that this has been a long, winding road to medicine. Any help or ideas on how to start over or cobble together lots of different stories would be great. I appreciate the help!

Upvote 0

ElloMellowYellow

5+ Year Member
May 13, 2015
  1. Pre-Medical
The problem with having a lot of experiences, especially different ones, is that it will end up being a rehash of your CV.

You could mention all of them in your intro, but focus on 2-3 of the most emotionally important ones for the rest of the essay.

You also want to hone in on who you're presenting yourself as. Avoid coming off as though you're just throwing everything to the wall to see what sticks. You'll have space in secondaries to bring up more experiences.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
Upvote 0

GreenDuck12

7+ Year Member
Mar 30, 2014
  1. Medical Student