Topics for diversity essay?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hexane19

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
What do you think is a better topic for a diversity essay?

1. Medical assistant at a free clinic

2. I've done volunteer work abroad

3. I have an MBS degree?

Members don't see this ad.

3. I have an MBS degree?

Is this seriously your talking points for diversity? I mean I was expecting something a little more... interesting.
I am not trying to be rude, but mabye I don't understand the word "Diversity". Are they looking for "different" diversity, or just something some of the applicants won't have.

I would choose MBS. Most people don't get this degree.

Agree with the poster above. Having a MBS degree does make you different, but try to think outside the box and maybe more personal? Many people will have #1 or #2 on their resumes so that doesn't really make you unique (no offence).

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
I kind of like the MBS degree if you can spin it in a way that it offeres you a unique perspective on medicine that others might not have.

The other two could work if you did a good job of talking about how it has given you experience working with specific patient populations or cultures and has increased your understanding of them, but a lot of people are going to have these experiences as well.

I strugged with the diversity essays for a while and still don't know if I took the right approach, but just try to focus on what makes you different from other applicants.

Question: MBS is master in business and science, am I correct?

Agree with Goro, especially if the free clinic catered heavily to minority demographics. It shows you potentially have experience working with cultures other than your own.

While MBS isn't something 'most' applicants have, it's become much more common than many might expect.