Total Newbie!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tryingdobeadoc

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi i always wanted to be a doctor. I am now in 9th grade. I dont know anything about how do be a doctor. I am a smart kid i get staraight A's and i took the PSATS and got a 1400. My mother says to get into "Direct Medical". i dont know what that means. I will be volunteering at my local hospital begining in september. SO please give me a step by step apporch. Thanks for help!

Members don't see this ad.

tryingdobeadoc said:
Hi i always wanted to be a doctor. I am now in 9th grade. I dont know anything about how do be a doctor. I am a smart kid i get staraight A's and i took the PSATS and got a 1400. My mother says to get into "Direct Medical". i dont know what that means. I will be volunteering at my local hospital begining in september. SO please give me a step by step apporch. Thanks for help!

are you sure a 1400? Do you mean a 140? It's good that you are thinking ahead and everything but you should not brag about a 140. A 200+ psat score would be something to brag about.

That aside, right now you should be focused on getting good grades and preforming some EC's. If you really want to go to a top undergrad school start studying for the ACT/SAT I and SAT II.

wow 9th grade, i can't even think that far back. Enjoy life while you can. Oh yeah, and good luck!! :thumbup:

Members don't see this ad :)
I think your mom is talking about a BS/MD program. It is where you go directly into medical school from high school, but it is a 6 year program. There are a few schools in the northeast that have mostly most of the class size reserved for BS/MD.

Try a search or pm me for more info

dont forget to enjoy highschool... and get into some trouble, yea i said it

hnbui said: