Transfer into 0-6 program 3rd year? Am I screwed?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WickedPharm

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a New England student acquiring my associates of science. Right now I'm fulfilling my requirements to apply to University of Rhode Island's 0-6 program as a transfer student.

I have done the research, and from my understanding, to transfer into a 0-6 program is extremely difficult going into 3rd year (so, take PCATs, get associates, pray to get into a program).
I will have competed these courses in two years time:
Code:
[LIST]
[*]Gen.  Chemistry I and II with labs
[*]General Zoology/Biology with lab
[*]Applied Calculus (Calc I )
[*]Human Anatomy with lab
[*]Organic Chemistry I and II with labs
[*]Principles of Microeconomics
[*]Introductory Medical Microbiology
[*]Introductory Human Physiology with Lab
[*]Introductory Biochemistry
[*]Introductory Biostatistics
[*]Oral Communications and Writing
[*]Ethics
[/LIST]
Here is my predicament: is it too late for me to do the 0-6? I have been advised by a counselor to just get my bachelors in Biology/Chem and go for a 3 year accelerated program. This seems counter-productive to me, but it may be my only choice.

I won't be fulfilling certain requirements, e.g., Physics I & II for certain schools like UF. Without these requirements will it cripple me from getting into any other 0-6 programs?

It comes down to this: if I have a decent gpa (3.0+) with a decent science and math (around 3.5) with a decent PCATs, will I have a probable chance of getting one of the 18 or so 0-6 pharm d. programs?

Ideally I would like Mass College, UConn, URI, or Northeastern, but all have very different requirements. If I have to do it in 7-8 years then so be it, any experienced advice is greatly appreciated.