Transfer to another undergraduate

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

azw638

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So currently I am a freshman in an accelerated BS/MD program at a low tier university. So far, I have been disliking this program, the university, and the environment. I've cried many days every week since I've been here and thought about transferring to another university and leaving this program. All the people I have talked to told me to just rough it out these few years and I would be at a med school soon. But about 90% of students commute to this university, and I am one of the few that live at the dorms. On weekends, many people from the dorms also go back home because it's a driveable distance, while I am hours away from my home, so it gets very lonely on the weekends. Also, I'm not getting any college experience compared to my former high school friends at other colleges. They hang out everyday, go to parties, and at least have something to do every weekend. I basically stay in my room everyday after classes because this town has absolutely nothing to do.

Granted, this program allows me to shadow, volunteer at clinics, and be exposed to the medical setting from year one. But I don't feel happy here, and I've told my parents, which they took a while to understand.

My question is: I don't really like it at my BSMD program, and want to transfer to another university. The thing is, I'm giving up a chance to get into medical school (this BSMD program isn't guaranteed admission, but an easier way). I don't know if transferring will affect my chances of applying the regular way into medical school. Would you advise me to transfer?

Members don't see this ad.