Trying to decide and trying to figure things out!??!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ericK14

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a sophomore at MCPHS and currently majoring in Pharm Sci and trying to get into the PharmD program but at times I'm skeptical about if pharmacy is the right call for me. I'm 23 years of age, I have a 3.1 GPA right now, I work as retail pharmacy technician and I have some volunteer work but not in any hospitals yet, and besides pharmacy I always think about pursuing a career as a doctor, not sure what type of doctor, or as a PA. I like the hands on experience, I help to help others, I like to research, I like to learn about medicine and what it can do. But if I've been lost lately on what is it that I really want to do. I want to be able to help my family out, and at 23 I won't really have a career as a doctor until I'm like 31-33 probably. Is that too old to be a doctor? To start off a career, and then there's the loans and all the debt I'll be in? Currently I'm at 60k for two years at my school loans. Financial aid isn't helping much but I'm not sure what to do in some areas. Any advice or help I would appreciate it. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

There are plenty of people who start medical school "late;" starting medical school at 25-26 is really not that abnormal. Many schools have an average age of matriculation that's in the 24-25 range. There was a guy who was in his early 40s as an M4 when I was an M1. Whether it's worth it to you to start your career is something you'll have to decide. You certainly wouldn't be the first, though.