Trying To Figure Out DO Prereqs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Brumz

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

This is going to be a long post, and a lot to read through, but as I prepare, I really need to make sure I'm on track, and since, as a nontraditional student, I don't really have an adviser, I'm coming to you. I figure there are many of you are in this process currently, or have been in this process recently, and should be able to answer my questions. I thank you in advance for your time and support.

I am trying to figure out exactly which prereqs I need for DO as a non-traditional student.
From what I can tell, there are certain prereqs that are pretty much standard across the board for med schools:

8 semester hours of Biology
8 semester hours of General Chemistry
8 semester hours of Organic Chemistry
8 semester hours of Physics
3 semester hours of College level Math

I plan to do these at my local college. One question I have is in regard to so many people I see here talking about the importance of upper division courses. As this is a college and not a university, there aren't upper division courses offered.

From what I have been able to gather, the following courses are what I would need in order to complete my prereqs. I am trying to figure out if I seem to have the right idea here, or if I'm way off base in my approach. Please note that all of the science classes are 4 credit classes, and the ones that should have a lab, do.

Biology:
BIO 196 - Principles of Modern Biology I - A study of the basic characteristics of living systems including the chemical and physical structure of cells, classification of living organisms and principles of genetics, ecology and evolution. This course is designed for science, biological science and preprofessional majors.