Trying to get accepted

Discussion in 'Caribbean' started by gogiants08, Jun 17, 2008.

1. gogiants08

Hi all,
    I have a humanities bachelor with a 2.5 GPA from a reputable university in the states. My science GPA was around 2.1, but I retook many science classes at a premed program at a school in the Dominican Republic and got mostly B's. I took the MCAT and got a 21S. I have some ER volunteer hours, as well as hours shadowing a doctor. I'm currently planning to retake the MCATs and am planning to do some research.
    I'm trying to get into the top 4. How does it look for me? What should I do to beef up my resume?
    Thanks for the help!

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. spreebee

spreebee Junior Member

Post Doc
    You need about a 3.0-3.1 to have a chance at the big 4... AUC for instance had a MCAT average of 24 and a GPA of about 3.2 average... You would probably need a 28 MCAT with your current GPA to have a chance (they want to see something in your application where your acedemics are strong)...You've got to think about what's going to happen if you do attend the Caribbean also... All my classes passing is a 70% + and alot of my classmates have already failed out 3 semesters in... You've got to be determined to study, for you are on your own....And if you do make it to STEP 1, you've got to pass if to avoid being dismissed... If I were you I would do a special masters program at a medschool in the U.S. before considering the Caribbean... If you can't do farely well in the program I wouldn't consider the Caribbean for the potential to destroy your life financially if you don't make it is quite a possibility...Good Luck

4. jackets5

jackets5 Senior Member