Turning 30 and re-evaluating med school aspirations

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PizzaButt

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 30-year-old, married, non-trad potential re-applicant to med school. A brief background: I have a law degree, did a post-bacc 2 years ago (did great in my coursework--took all my pre-med pre-reqs for the first time), worked full-time in an OR after my post-bacc was done, volunteered in hospitals, etc., took the MCAT and applied, but did not get any interviews. [As a side note, I only applied to schools with higher acceptance rates and non-trad friendly schools]. I was extremely crushed by not getting any interviews after working so hard at my post-bacc, working in the field, and being so excited about becoming a doctor. After getting no acceptances, I re-took the MCAT again but it was hardly better than my first attempt (25 and 26, respectively). I decided not to reapply at that time, since I realized that an MCAT of 26 was not going to do anything for my application.

Anyhow, I got discouraged about all this, because I felt that I could not do any better on the MCAT (I took a review course both times) and decided to give up my dreams of medicine. For the last few years I tried some other careers (I didn't want to practice law) and did not find anything that was a good fit. In fact, I was pretty much miserable in every career/job I tried, including law.