Two Weeks Before MCAT with Subpar Scores... Advice please?(:

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

See Sea

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

My MCAT is in approximately 2 weeks, and I've been scoring pretty poorly on the AAMCs, such as 24, 25, 26, 27. I'd like to ask you all for some advice on what I can do to improve... All I'm aiming for is a 30, and hoping to get accepted somewhere in Texas.

Just for some quick BG info for context:
I'm a non-URM IS Texas resident. Recently graduated, and am taking some time off to take care of this MCAT, which I think is all that I need left to apply. Unfortunately, my cGPA is pretty poor (3.51) and my sGPA (3.42) follows closely behind, which is why I know I need to do pretty well on this MCAT.

I have plenty of research experience, I think. I've worked in 4 different labs (so I was able to experience research in various areas of study) in the past 4-5 years, starting in high school. I was fortunate enough to get 1-2 publications in as well with the work I contributed (did not write those publications btw), and also was fortunate enough to work for an ophthalmologist near my university as his medical office assistant for about 2 years so far (thankfully, this means a lot of hands-on patient interaction).

Buuuut of course, none of these things really matter unless I figure out the MCAT! >_<

So, in terms of the MCAT, yeah, obviously I am struggling :(
I took a practice test today and scored a 24 (10 PS, 5 VR, 9 BS). I don't think I was feeling too good on the VR part. I normally score at least a little bit higher. And yeah, I think after post I'm going to go cry for a good bit (yeah, I'm a girl. Literally. Haha).

Average scores, ranging 24-27 cumulative can be broken down as:
9-11, PS
6-8, VR
9-10, BS