Typical Salary Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

argentrans37

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am an undergrad working towards a degree in science, and am strongly considering dental school. I realize that salary should not be a large reason for choosing a profession, and for me it isn't. I simply find dentistry interesting.

BUT, I am curious as to a typical starting salary for a dentist who is NOT starting his/her own practice. I just want to know what I can expect to make after graduating from dental school and taking a job offer.

I only ask because I am trying to see if the 4 years of dental school combined with $250k+ in student loans is worth it.

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone,

I am an undergrad working towards a degree in science, and am strongly considering dental school. I realize that salary should not be a large reason for choosing a profession, and for me it isn't. I simply find dentistry interesting.

BUT, I am curious as to a typical starting salary for a dentist who is NOT starting his/her own practice. I just want to know what I can expect to make after graduating from dental school and taking a job offer.

I only ask because I am trying to see if the 4 years of dental school combined with $250k+ in student loans is worth it.

Thanks.

before others get on here and "rip you a new one" ....

try searching simple questions like these via SDN, google, etc as this topic has been :beat:

before others get on here and "rip you a new one" ....

try searching simple questions like these via SDN, google, etc as this topic has been :beat:
Yeah, I have done all of that. The problem is, the sources are often uncited, and ALWAYS combine associates/partners/people starting their own practice (/taking over daddy's).