U.S Residency system?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Medstart108

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am a Canadian high school student thinking of going abroad for a Medical program in the UK. Upon graduation I will be classified as an IMG. I'm just wondering if anyone could explain to me how the U.S residency application system works. In particular, how do they match students? do they look at grades, extra curriculars, USMLE results, your medical school? Lastly, If I want a more selective specialty like surgery, as an IMG am I likely to get it assuming I more or less don't mind which hospital I do my residency in.

Members don't see this ad.

They look at everything you mentioned.

As an IMG it will be a lot tougher to get into the competitive specialties but not entirely impossible. It will be even tougher if you need a visa.

Hi, I am a Canadian high school student thinking of going abroad for a Medical program in the UK. Upon graduation I will be classified as an IMG. I'm just wondering if anyone could explain to me how the U.S residency application system works. In particular, how do they match students? do they look at grades, extra curriculars, USMLE results, your medical school? Lastly, If I want a more selective specialty like surgery, as an IMG am I likely to get it assuming I more or less don't mind which hospital I do my residency in.

Is it too late to convince you to stay in North America? :) I'm a US-IMG and came over to England for medical school. I managed to jump through all the hoops and was able to match into a pediatric residency of my choice. But keep in mind that you won't be graduating until 2017 or 2018! Things will be much different than they are now.