UC Schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

microgal

NYC's Finest
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, so I'm a Cali state resident I was verified mid July and I haven't received a single UC secondary invitation.... I know I'm taking a long shot with them...(low Cornell undergrad GPA) but good MCATs...but I was wondering if anybody else was in the same boat. Why does my state hate me? Is anybody else out there waiting patiently for their UC school rejection like me?:(

Members don't see this ad.

Whats the rest of your app like? what is considered a 'low gpa'? MCAT? Either way its still early so don't fret, just be patient or make a few phonecalls

3.4 overall Cornell, 3.2 science.... 33R mcat, 11 in each section...clinical microbiologist/biodefense researcher at Weill Cornell in NYC. Lots of undergrad research...blah blah blah, you've heard it all before. I wouldn't be that upset about my app in general but the UC's are really freaking me out, I'm considering applying to DO schools now cause of my low gpa.

Members don't see this ad :)
my peers with similar GPAs as you havent gotten them either.
I dont think you need to go DO. Your GPA isnt that low, its just that UCs are number ****** and they want like 3.8s and ****... ridiculous!

Number ******... I like that. Thanks!

Part of it is the screening process. You get accustomed to getting requests for secondaries fired at you from all the non-screener schools, so the UCs feel like they take a long time. It took Davis a few weeks to offer me a 2ndary, and I'm waiting on SD and SF (verified early july). g'luck

Number ******... I like that. Thanks!

You probably didnt make the first wave, as in your app was verified a few days late. Give it a month and I am sure there will be another large wave of secondaries going out and you will be in it.