UCLA Extension x 400 classes: do they count for undergraduate GPA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

common man

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I finished my bachelor's degree at a 4 year university and would now like to do a "do it yourself post bacc" at UCLA Extension which itself is not a 4 year degree school.

Following info is from UCLA Extension's website:

"Many UCLA Extension courses qualify for academic credit at UCLA and other colleges and universities. All course numbers on this site prefixed with an "X" will lead to the award of academic credit upon satisfactory completion."

"X 400 to X 499: Generally post-baccalaureate credit-bearing courses and lecture series in professional fields; designed in content, focus, and presentation style to standards of instruction used in degree programs."

https://www.uclaextension.edu/str/FormsCredit.aspx

Here's an example of an x 400 class:
https://www.uclaextension.edu/r/Course.aspx?reg=V5633

Taken together, I assume that X 400 classes are post-bacc classes with academic credit. NOT "professional" or "continuing education" stuff. I am not sure if this assumption is correct so I am seeking to verify with anyone here. I'd be especially lucky to hear from someone who has taken x 400 courses at UCLA Extension, applied through AMCAS, and had those courses factor into the undergraduate GPA. To clarify, I know "XL" courses definitely count as undergraduate academic credit but I'm interested only in "X" courses.

I'd like to verify this before spending the time, money, and effort to take classes and be surprised during application time that "X" courses not count towards my undergraduate GPA or as academic credit. I know AMCAS requires you to report all of your classes but for example they will not calculate "professional classes" into your GPA.

I'm not concerned about reputation of an extension school, other alternatives, BCPM etc...