UCSD or Harvard? and alternate lists

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EmB

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi folks,
I need some help regarding two issues: 1) I just found out that I'm waitlisted at UCSF, which is my NUMBER ONE choice for med school. The letter said nothing, so I wonder if any of you know about how many people get accepted from their alternate list, and what I can do to help my chances. 2) Assuming that I DON'T get into UCSF, I need to choose between my other top acceptances: Harvard and UCSD. It's pretty much a money issue, as I see it: I'm a CA resident, and so I am reluctant to go to Harvard. On the other hand, I really liked it there, and I was into their New Pathway curriculum, and all of that...can anyone give me advice on either or both of these two schools? May 15 is getting pretty close, and I have no idea what to do. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

In my opinion, there's Harvard, and then there's everybody else.

Congratulations on a well earned decision.

Good Luck,

One Harvard Reject

Congratulations--and, whatever you choose, please do it quickly! A lot of us are just praying to be toppled over by another alternate list domino!

Members don't see this ad :)
I really can't see why anybody would pass up an opportunity to be educated from a world renowned institution like Harvard. If I was in your position, the decision would not be difficult. It is also safe to say that a graduate from Harvard med school would not have trouble paying back his loans. Well, congratulations and best wishes to you.
smile.gif

Hey, EmB: