Undergrad Totally Unrelated to Vet....help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

carlili

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
During my undergrad, I had no idea what I wanted to study. I had always thought of working with animals in some capacity, but I thought I never would be able to get into a vet school so I never considered it an option until recently. I graduated this past May and realized a little too late that maybe I could become a vet. So now I have a B.S. in Science, Technology and Society. I have zero hours logged at a vet's office. I have some experience working on farms if that could count for anything. I have mediocre grades; I won't make excuses- I just didn't try because I didn't care about the courses I was taking. I have nothing that would get me even an interview.

So my question is: where do I begin? I understand that my vet school journey will be a long one, especially because I have to start bulking my resume up. I know it may be 2 or 3 years down the line till I'm ready to apply. So what do I do? Should I get my Masters in Zoology or Marine Biology? (Marine Bio because my dream is to work with marine mammals.) Do I get an internship at a zoo or aquarium? How do I begin pursuing my dream of vet school? Thanks everyone for reading and literally any advice!

Members don't see this ad.