Understanding the differences/indications for different sedation gtts

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Samtansey

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm new to critical care and what's confusing me is the different gtts used for sedation, mostly because all my patients are never on the same thing. So I was wondering what's the indication for each.

Examples of Different Combinations of Sedation I've had:
  • Fentanyl and Versed gtt
  • Fentanyl and Precedex
  • Fentanyl and Propofol
  • Propofol and Precedex

One case that confused me was a patient I had admitted with ARDS who was mechanically ventilated and on Versed gtt and Fentanyl gtt. Her respiratory rate was set at 28, however her breathing rate was between 30-50, and she was coughing over the vent it seemed. I gave 2mg IVP Versed x2, in addition to increasing her Versed gtt up, and then finally a dose of PRN Nimbex which appeared to work for like only 15 minutes. When I made the doctor aware, she said to switch her over to a Propofol gtt and off the Versed gtt if she could tolerate it. So again, my question is, why Propofol instead of Versed? I mean, it definitely worked after some titration, but I'm trying to understand why she was on Versed in the first place, and why Propofol was better for her?

Members don't see this ad.

You may want to start by reading the SCCM guidelines on sedation and analgesia, as well as a basic pharmacology text.
In short:
1. There is almost NO INDICATION for versed drips anymore. Exceptions may include: you need to keep the patient in ARDSNET for a really long time and will switch to something less deleriumogenic soon. Ativan would be better if the patient has any liver/kidney issues, but is likewise a culprit in delirium, which is really BAD. Benzos are hemodynamically benign (usually) but cause delirium.