Unique re-applicant situation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MarginalUtility23

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all! I'm in a pretty tough situation and wanted to seek the advice of the wonderful /premed community.

I am a Caribbean medical student at ROSS and am not doing well. I did not pass first semester and currently am attempting to repeat the semester but will likely not pass this time either. I will be withdrawing in the coming days so that I do not waste any more time and money to try to fix grades that are essentially unsalvageable at this point.

I wanted to seek advice on what to do next. I believe my academic issues stem from less than stellar performance in the pre-med, pre-req courses which has caused me to suffer in subsequent upper level courses due to having a weak knowledge base. I believed that those courses would not matter and that med school would be easy, boy was I wrong! It is not a place where you can effectively cram. The sheer amount of content and memorization required is something I have never excelled with before. I know that I can improve this with practice and time; I did not have adequate time in med school. I was stupid to choose this route, instead of becoming a stronger student I took the easy way out. My GPA was lower than DO's and MD's would consider, but with an upward trend. My MCAT was also below average, mainly due to not having that strong of a knowledge base of the basic sciences.