University of Colorado

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

scully

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is anyone here considering CU for med school? It is one of my top choices due to the great location and rapidly climbing reputation.

I wish I knew a bit more about the school (besides the quite impressive US News ranking), such as how the students have been matching in recent years. Also, while CU is a top primary care school, I know that research there is quite good. Does anyone know how people who plan to specialize fare there?

Any information about CU from those in the know would be greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Scully,

CU is one of my top choices too (primarily because I'm an undergrad at CU right now). Denver is a great city and the med school does indeed have a great rep. My only concern with UCHSC is that the student population is a little older. I'm 20 now... the average age of first years at the school is 26. I know that CU has one of the best ER residency programs in the nation and I read somewhere else that last year several students matched at Stanford, etc.