University of Washington vs. USC

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

acadia18

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
First post! In part as an act of desperation, to be honest. :confused:

I am a CA resident and am trying to decide between USC and UW for pharmacy school. It seems like UW would be the obvious choice: it's ranked higher, it's much cheaper to go there, and it's in a nicer neighborhood/is better looking than USC. However, when I visited UW for the interview I thought their interview process was extremely impersonal and was disappointed overall. At this point I'm starting to think it's just a battle of public vs. private school.

Here's a pro-con list:

USC
Pros:
-A large variety of student groups
-Ample networking opportunities
-Sunny, for the most part
-I think LA has a more diverse patient population than Seattle
Cons:
-$$$$$$$$
-The building is pretty darn ugly, and the location is... not the best

UW:
Pros:
-Cheap!
-Higher ranking
-Nice location/campus (although the healthsci building is kind of ugly)
-Not just a health sci campus
Cons:
-Didn't have the best feeling that the when I visited, possibly because they didn't try to sell the school to me at all
-The people eating in the cafeteria in the pharmacy building looked SO SAD...

I would love any suggestions or any information about either of the schools!!! I have this saying that I will never really know until I go there myself... but right now I just have to decide!

Members don't see this ad.

Steve Sarkisian & Pete Carroll already dumped USC for Seattle... what are you waiting for?:) I'm not sure why the UW did so poorly at interviews this year, but if you can ignore the interview process, the school is awesome

UW FTW! Seriously, though, UWash is a great school. Well known, lots of connections and opportunities, good faculty, and there IS diversity there. I considered applying there but my S.O. didn't want to live there. Boo.