UOP or Tufts?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DDSdecisions

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,
I'm new to this. I'm just wondering if there is a large difference in quality of education between UOP and Tufts. I hear that Tufts is a much better school and 4 years is key for being prepared to start your own practice. What do you think?

Also, do you happen to know where I can find stats on avg. salary of a UOP grad vs. a Tufts grad?

Thanks for your help.

Members don't see this ad.

DDSdecisions said:
Hi Everyone,
I'm new to this. I'm just wondering if there is a large difference in quality of education between UOP and Tufts. I hear that Tufts is a much better school and 4 years is key for being prepared to start your own practice. What do you think?

Also, do you happen to know where I can find stats on avg. salary of a UOP grad vs. a Tufts grad?

Thanks for your help.

I don't think the school has a direct affect on your salary if thats your primary concern.....

I don't think there is a good correlation between which school you graduate from and your earning potential. You said you heard that Tufts is a better school, in what way? I think rather than trying to base your decision on the ave. salary out of dental school, you should concentrate on which location you prefer and whether you want to be in school 3 or 4 years.

my 2 cents

Members don't see this ad :)
Other than salary... My dentist graduated from Tufts when it offered a 3-year program and he said he missed out on a more complete education because he chose to rush through it. The 3-year program is appealing for my short term interests, but I am wondering if you think it will negatively affect my career in the long term.

would you rather be in cold boston or great san fran? would you rather be done in 3 years or 4? ;)

DDSdecisions said: