Upper Level knowing your grades!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

docscience

AZCOM (Junior Member)
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
First, congrats to all that matched today! Hooray!

I am on the surgery service and I overheard a conversation that the residents/interns were having about the students that matched to the program. They said:
"oh these three are great, but these three are horrible."
"this student rotated at this program when I was an intern and he was a horrible student"
"this student only got a 195 on her boards"

Is this frustrating for interns or do the upper levels treat interns with respect and not share their grades? Does this influence what they think about you on the service? Trust your clinical judgement and such?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

First, congrats to all that matched today! Hooray!

I am on the surgery service and I overheard a conversation that the residents/interns were having about the students that matched to the program. They said:
"oh these three are great, but these three are horrible."
"this student rotated at this program when I was an intern and he was a horrible student"
"this student only got a 195 on her boards"

Is this frustrating for interns or do the upper levels treat interns with respect and not share their grades? Does this influence what they think about you on the service? Trust your clinical judgement and such?

Thanks.
Residents at some places know interviewee stats especially if they have a voice in helping pick who gets in, so I don't think that's really surprising. But honestly if you've gotten in I'm pretty sure they'll judge you on how you do.

More and more programs are asking for strong resident input when deciding their rank order list.

So residents are now more involved in choosing their future interns - especially the PGY-4s, who will be chiefs when the new batch of interns start.