urology vs. ortho

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MDkobe

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi all,

i'm currently a 3rd year medical student deciding on whether to apply to urology or orthopedic surgery? I have rotated on both and think I would enjoy both fields pretty equally so I was wondering if I gain the insight of the sdn community regarding both fields. If you can give me input on,

lifestyle?
career flexibility?
demand in future?
compensation?
and anything else you think is pertinent.

I've read the other forums about this issue but they're pretty outdated and I'm looking to see if there are any new insights on both fields and which people would choose and why.

appreciate the input/insight in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

I was in the same position as you when I was a third year. I'm now a fourth year applying to Uro. Short answer to your question is which bone do you want to work with NAMSAYIN???

Long answer, I ended up choosing Urology, so take everything I say with that in mind. I think I can remain pretty unbiased, but I may not be as knowledgable about ortho specifics and I have my own biases just like everyone else does. So with that said, let's get to it. I mean this with all due respect, but I don't think answers to any of the questions you're asking will help you beside between these two fields. Keep in mind that there are of course going to be anecdotes that are contrary to what I write; I don't know everything and there always are exceptions, but I'm doing my best to speak in generalities.