USMLE step 3 eligibility???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sam786

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an intern in Anesthesiology. :confused:
-Just wanted to know when exactly I'm eligible to take the Usmle step 3???
-What paperwork do I need to sign up? And also if there any great books that you can recommend for the step 3?
-Does kaplan step 3 have qbank?...if so ...is it any good?
-Any advice from someone who has already taken the exam would be great? -In terms of how it was different from the step 2...was it harder / same...hours involved..etc? :confused:

Members don't see this ad.

sam786 said:
I'm an intern in Anesthesiology. :confused:
-Just wanted to know when exactly I'm eligible to take the Usmle step 3???
-What paperwork do I need to sign up? And also if there any great books that you can recommend for the step 3?
-Does kaplan step 3 have qbank?...if so ...is it any good?
-Any advice from someone who has already taken the exam would be great? -In terms of how it was different from the step 2...was it harder / same...hours involved..etc? :confused:

You can take step 3 now. Anytime during your internship/residency. You just have to have it passed before you can get an unrestricted license.

Paperwork is on the FSMB website. http://www.fsmb.org/

I didn't study one page for this test, took it in 4 hours flat each day. Made in between my scores from step 1 and 2.

Some states require that you complete 9 months to a year of internship before you can sit for Step 3. Others allow you to sit for it anytime, but require a year of internship (or two years of residency as is the case in my state) before you can get a medical license.

Did you check with the FSMB?

southerndoc said: