UT-Austin and NYU

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

b-real

What, me worry?
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all, I was wondering how good UT-Austin is for pre-med. I'm an instate resident, and I love the UT System med schools. Somewhere, I heard that 60% of UT grads get accepted to atleast 1 med school. Is this true? My other choice for college is NYU. Does anyone know what percentage of applicants from NYU get accepted to med school? Also, how are the environments at each school (laid-back, no competition or Hopkins cutthroat)?

Any info is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

To tell you the truth I do not trust the stats that colleges give out (e.g. 60% of our pre-meds get accepted). For all you know only 10 people applied to medical school that year from that school. You see many pre-med advisors only persuade the top students to apply while persuading other pre-meds to wait another year to improve their applications. This way they improve their stats.

I do not think it makes a huge difference which school you choose as long as you do well in your courses and MCATs. Good Luck!

b-real --

I say go with UT-Austin. I'm assuming that you're a Texas resident, so the cost differential is tremendous. But even without considering the cost, I think UT would prepare you for med school just as well as NYU. UT and A&M make up the majority of incoming students at all of the UT-System med schools, so you'll have an advantage there. Plus, the pre-med advisors will be very familiar with the Texas application service, and you'll probably have many friends who have gone through or will be going through the same process. Even if you want to apply out-of-state, I think UT has a good reputation. Plus, Austin is a great city (pretty laid back) and is probably a lot closer to home for you. Just my input.

Members don't see this ad :)