VA research career?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fallen625

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Would love to hear everyone's thoughts about the pros and cons of having a research career at a VA. Considering a VA research postdoc vs. AMC postdoc and curious to hear everyones thoughts. The research funding available through the VA makes it tempting. I am an intern at the VA so I am somewhat familiar with what being at a VA is like, but not on the research side of things

Members don't see this ad.

I had a VA researcher that I know tell me you're better off in academia and then maintaining ties to a VA research lab or dataset. The VA will eat away at your time unless you keep getting funding, which isn't exactly easy.

For what it's worth, I started out wanting a VA research career. I changed my mind once I completed a VA research fellowship and saw the reality of it.

Reactions: 1 users
For what it's worth, I started out wanting a VA research career. I changed my mind once I completed a VA research fellowship and saw the reality of it.

Yep. Anecdotally, I would say this happens to 50% or so of VA research fellows.