Value of Grant Writing vs Publications

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Zendo

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I wanted to get a better sense of how valuable it is to work on grant writing in terms of competitiveness for matching residency (undecided specialty). I'm a second-year student and the only research project I've been able to get on is with working on a R01 grant proposal from the ground up. Progress is pretty slow.

I would appreciate thoughts on how much this project is worth on a CV as compared to pumping out publications. Just want to ensure I'm spending my time wisely as I don't particularly enjoy research. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

There are some ways to spin that as a positive but ultimately it's not a particularly useful endeavor unless you plan to have a research career.

Grant-writing is a particular skill. Actually participating in data acquisition, analysis or paper-writing is the stuff that's going to be more attractive to programs.

The way I see it: programs are trying to recruit people that add to the program's prestige, either by past accomplishments or what potential they can bring to the department. E.g. someone who's published alot before can potentially publish alot for the department. But the department doesn't necessarily need a trainee writing grants for stuff. That much less-so in the realm of average resident scholarly activity.

Reactions: 1 user
WTF this does not seem like an appropriate med student activity. You are never, ever, ever, ever going to see the fruits of this grant application, and I would never in a million years farm out writing an R01 (or a K, or even a foundation level grant) to a medical student.