various

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gmcsierra

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I got a job as workstudy in a bio, microbio, phys, and anatomy lab. I am also contemplating a hospice volunteer position. what are the value of each? if time becomes an issue, which will be more helpful for applying?

i am a sophomore mech engineering student. i have only taken one semester of gen chem. i think i can get out of here in 4 years if i take orgo over the summer and maybe another 4 credit class the next summer and am able to take the august mcat my junior year. is it ok to take the august mcat of you junior year and what are the pros and cons? would you recommend taking the 4 year route or relaxing and doing it in 4.5 years and having easy summers and maybe taking minimal credits while studying for mcats and applying?

thanks a lot,

ps, judd davies, are you in here? if so, congrats on osu!

Members don't see this ad.

So many questions. I'll take on a few of them.

If you take orgo over the summer (or even your junior year, since it is two semesters), why couldn't you take the MCAT in April?

As for cramming it in or spreading the coursework out, it depends on how demanding your other classes are, and how much freedom you have with your schedule as an engineering major. I know my engineering friends typically only have room for one elective per semester, but even with that you should be able to take the MCAT by next April. Take orgo 1 in the spring, orgo 2 in the summer, bio 1 (if you haven't taken it) in the fall, bio 2 in the spring, and MCAT in April.