Veteran & Spouse Pre-Med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MDAlchemist

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I kind of have a two-part post. But first, I'm a 24 yo Army vet (3.5 years of service), a wife and two kids. I've been out for w little over a year now, going into my sophomore year this fall (31 credits).
Before the Army I did one semester of college, I only took two courses at a local community college and I earned a "D" and "F" in the two courses. So, currently going in my sophomore year I have a GPA of 2.9. Im not too concerned about myself, after reading through similar threads on SDN. From what I read it would be advantageous for me to take as many (out of degree) courses as I can in order to raise my GPA. My question is, would this be the best route to improving my GPA in the next two years (while obviously making As) and wouldn't it name since to take any courses outside of my degree to scrupulously raise my cum GPA??

Second Part:
My wife has about 16 credits right now, but she had dropped out of college years ago but didn't withdraw and received F's in 4 (maybe even 5) classes. She's now starting back and wanting to work her way to medical school.
I don't even know where to start with her. So, can she make it there? If so, how? To assist, we currently live in Alabama: UAB Medical school acceptance this past year was 3.79 GPA w/ 508 MCAT.
University of South Alabama was 3.8 w/ 507.

Members don't see this ad.