Veterans! Insight please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Goro

Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Could some of you PM me? My 16 year son is making noise about joining the military, and has a number of questions.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 5 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Could some of you PM me? My 16 year son is making noise about joining the military, and has a number of questions.

I’m a Iraq war vet. PM if you want advice.

Reactions: 1 user
any branch specific or just wants to join the military. 12 year active duty air force here. PM me if you have any questions

Personally, I hope my kids don't want to join and will likely actively discourage it. After 4 generations of watching the system chew up and spit out members of my family, I don't have much love for the system, though I do have great respect for the soldiers, sailors, and airmen unfortunate enough to be caught up in it.

I would recommend the Air Force. Pick a job that has transferable skills to the civilian world. Shorter term contract if possible will give flexibility to stay in or get out later on. I think 3 years gets you 100% of the new GI Bill, so if it’s not a great fit, college is paid for.

As a combat vet, army, I always say Air Force. And if I can swing it, I really, really, really... I mean really... recommend a look at the coast guard. Or college. College is nice.

That said I don't think I'd be where I am today without the military, so, if he decides to do it, push him to crush it, in whatever branch.

That said I don't think I'd be where I am today without the military, so, if he decides to do it, push him to crush it, in whatever branch.

I feel the same, though I wish I could have gotten the experience without the physical toll on my tired bones :D

• Haha
Reactions: 3 users