Volunteering at a hospital?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GamjaXnamjA

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone

So I'm a sophomore in school right now and have volunteered at many

different places unrelated to health care. I just started volunteering at a

local hospital and honestly i gotta say i feel so useless. There is almost nothing

I can do as a volunteer and I dont seem to learn anything out of the "work"

either. Is volunteering at a hospital really necessary? because i would much

rather get certification as a cna, emt, phlebotomist, etc. and do some real

work. If i worked at the hospital but didn't volutneer, would it look bad on

my application?

Members don't see this ad.

It really depends on what you're doing if you're working there. If you actually got your CNA (not sure where you'd get time for that) or EMT, that would probably cover most of the need for volunteering. You still need some shadowing to get direct contact with physicians so you can actually see WHAT they do and talk to them and such. Although your role would still be delivering health care, it's not the same as a doctor, so you need that contact. Also, who knows, maybe if you do no volunteering and only stuff where you get paid you might be viewed as uncharitable, which is generally something they're looking for. I realize that's kind of an extreme view, but is it worth risking it? Just do what everyone does, suck though it may.

Hey everyone

local hospital and honestly i gotta say i feel so useless. There is almost nothing

my application?