Volunteering Confusion

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

panicatthedisco

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. Ok this may be a really stupid question but i'm new to this.

I am going to volunteer in the ER of a local hospital. When I went for orientation it seemed like they were going to have me making beds and putting food into the fridge. I know I am not qualified to do anything, but is this the type of clinical experience I need?
Any suggestions or other people's experiences would be very helpful. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

panicatthedisco said:

I am going to volunteer in the ER of a local hospital. When I went for orientation it seemed like they were going to have me making beds and putting food into the fridge. I know I am not qualified to do anything, but is this the type of clinical experience I need?

Hi.

Don't sweat it. At most hospitals, especially very large ones, nobody really knows who anyone is. With this in mind you can go wild and do anything you want, pretty much with impunity because, think about it, who are they gonna sue?

I hung out in the waiting rooms and the gift shop eating peanut M&Ms thinking about how I would spin this activity on my application until I got bored of it. Then I decided to actually do some volunteering. I got a white coat and cheap stethascope and walked around the hospital looking for good volunteer exerience.

As you know, patients spend most of their time in the exam room waiting. If you walk in with a white coat and a stethascope around your neck you can do a complete history and physical and be out before anyone knows you were there.

Did you know that some chicks will put their feet up in stirrups when you walk in? Incredible! Of course some of them were real hosers so sometimes I had to say, in my best butch doctor voice, "Lady, please, I just ate."