Walgreens STARS events

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pharm00123

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a new grad and I am so afraid of getting a stars event (any wrong external event is reported in STARS). I am just wondering how many stars events I can get before they fire me. I am placed at a very busy 24 hour store and its so stressful. I come home everyday and cannot even sleep at night because I am thinking about what could have gone wrong or what mistake I may have made that day. Does anyone else in retail feel like this (especially if you are a new pharmacist)?

Members don't see this ad.

You're going to make a STARS report. You're probably going to make like three in your first month. Most new grads do. And then your DM is going to call you into his office and sit you down and tell you to slow the hell down and it will be your get out of jail free card.

The true answer depends on your district and your saturation. I'm currently in my position because the previous pharmacy manager had 10 STARS events in the past year, and was put on a one week suspension and removed from the store (not fired). But if your DM hired a million pharmacists and everyone is clawing for hours, you may not have that leniancy.

Ditto, above. STARS will happen, and aren't something to stress over. LEARN from them. Decrease your trend over time, and don't increase your errors, obvoiusly. I would have on average 1-2 per month, but the serious ones the DM will worry about are the type 1 STARS reports, involving wrong patient, wrong drug. Those are serious. Don't get more than 2 per year.

Members don't see this ad :)
Force your techs to write the patient's DOB on each and every prescription. I had several scripts today, while working at a store that I usually don't work at, that didn't have the DOB on there, and it was quite unnerving.