WAMC? 3.6c, 3.5s, worked full-time, currently a Mayo Clinic lab tech. 2021 cycle. HELP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

laneypease

Reaction score
Hi!

I graduated last spring (2019) with Bio major and a Chem minor. I worked full-time as a restaurant manager in college, volunteered as a sexual assault advocate in the emergency room as well as phone hotline for all four years of school (Maybe 400 hours?? Mix of clinical/non clinical) and was president of a club (The Women in Engineering and Science Club). I also did 60 hours of international clinic volunteer work in Nicaragua. I only did a few months of research in an ALS genetics lab because quite honestly, I didn't love it. (I prefer more direct patient influence, like my current clinical lab work)

I now work in a clinical genetics laboratory at Mayo Clinic on oncology cases, and will have a year of experience there before applying next fall for the 2021 cycle. I will also have a certification in cytogenetics through my job. I don't have shadowing experience... I've actually shadowed Genetic Counselors, but I decided I wanted to pursue medicine instead. I had decided against Med school as a pre-med undergrad, but have gone back to it again.

My cumulative GPA is 3.62, science is about 3.5. I plan on studying my butt off for the MCAT and I tend to test well, so fingers crossed.

SO... How am I looking so far? My GPA is low, but I also have a lot of work/volunteer experience. I plan on applying next summer/fall.

Summary:
3.62c
3.5s
350 hours clinical (?) volunteering (working with ER sexual assault victims)
60 hours international clinical volunteering
50 hours nonclinical (sexual assault hotline)
30 hours community outreach type volunteering (nonclinical)
2 years as president of a club
6 years customer service, including 2 years management