MD WAMC? Low GPA, Good MCAT, Strong EC's

genuinously

May 24, 2020
  1. Pre-Medical
    Hello!

I am a recent grad that is planning to apply to medical school (applying MD only) this cycle, taking a gap year in between to continue research remotely at a local SoM (see 6c below) part-time and continue my role as an ER tech (see 5a below) full-time. I believe that while my extracurriculars are pretty good, my sGPA and cGPA are severely lacking, as far as averages go. I had hoped that my MCAT score (514) would help offset this GPA in showing my understanding of the sciences, despite my poor performance in my classwork (see 12 below). I am wondering if I have a shot at getting into an MD school this cycle? I was planning on a list of 20 schools, and while my residence is in CT, I don’t mind going elsewhere in the country, albeit hopefully in more urban settings. I am eager to get back into clinical work in patient care settings through teching this gap year, and I would really love to apply this cycle, but I have also learned that I may be better off doing an SMP, MS, or Post-Bacc (all of which I would need to pay for with loans, as I am hoping to pay off some of my undergrad loans with the money I make this year). I feel pretty at a loss of what to do, and would truly love some advice in this. Here is some info about me:

1) cGPA: 3.48 sGPA: 3.24, majors Biopsychology and Community Health

2) MCAT score: 514

3) State of residence: CT

4) Ethnicity and/or race: Asian American

5) Clinical experience (paid and volunteer):

a) 700+ hours as an ER tech at local Level I Trauma Center

b) 800+ hours as a volunteer EMT-B

6) Research experience:

a) 500+ hours at a psychopharm lab (three years), no publications

b) 300+ hours at a research company developing neurocognitive assessments, no publications