WAMC - Low GPA, Non-Traditional Applicant, 3rd year applying

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dancingvet_loading

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I am a 29 year old female, my in-state school is Virginia-Maryland. This will be my 3rd time applying. Last year I got 1 interview, but not successful in receiving an interview for any other schools. I applied to about 6 schools this past year. Possibly looking to apply to 5-7 this cycle. I am a non-traditional applicant. I graduated undergrad in 2016. I have been retaking some courses for the last year.

Cumulative GPA: per VMCAS 3.07
science GPA: per VMCAS 2.32 (2.48 if you replace the grades I retook)
last 45: 2.9

Currently, I am retaking 2 courses at the moment, so my GPA's will increase at the end of August.

Any degrees achieved: BS in Biology (Preveterinary Medicine), Theatre, and Minor in Dance in 2016

GRE results: None, not interested in taking it.

Veterinary Experience & Animal Experience:
-over 12,000 hrs of Veterinary and Animal experience as a Vet Assistant for 2 years (during and after my undergrad) and Vet Technician for 5 years. Small Animal/Exotics/Pocket Pets/a little bit of avian. As a vet assistant, I worked at an Emergency Hospital as an ER assistant and Internal Medicine assistant.

Research Experience: None

Awards/scholarships:
-Honors Program at my undergrad
-Certificate of Merit for Costume Design from the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts
-2012-2014 Loats Foundation Scholarship
-2014-2015 Leonard & Jane Schwab Theatre & Speech Scholarship
-Deans List 2011
-Theatre Scholarship
-FMBC Student Achievement Stipend from my church

Extracurriculars:
In Undergrad:

-Frostburg State University Theatre Program
-Frostburg Dance Company
-FSU Chapter of NCNW (National Council of Negro Woman) (original member of this chapter)
-FSU Student Alumni Ambassadors
-FSU Student Health Advisory Committee (SHAC)