WAMC/School List TX: ORM Nontrad (3.5 GPA/505 MCAT)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zomgbecky

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a TX resident interested in applying to both MD and DO schools this upcoming cycle with a strong preference for MD schools. I have worked as a travel nuclear medicine technologist in Texas for the past 3 years, mainly working in rural areas. Schools I should apply to(I'll be applying to all Texas schools) and any advice on how I can strengthen my application for the upcoming cycle would be greatly appreciated.

1. GPA cGPA 3.52, sGPA 3.50 (TMDSAS cGPA 3.51 sGPA 3.43)
GPA trend-
Freshman 2.6
Sophomore 2.9
Junior 3.7
Senior 3.98
2. MCAT 505 125/126/126/128
3. TX Resident: Currently living in Rural East Texas
4. ORM/URM: Asian ORM
5. Undergraduate institution: Kinesiology Health Science track BS, Nuclear Medicine AAS
6. Clinical experience:
Nonpaid Clinical Experience: 1320 hours of nuclear medicine rotations at 5 different hospitals
Paid Clinical Experience: 3000 hours working as a travel nuclear medicine technologist
7. Research experience:
Research project as a part of my nuclear medicine degree. I recorded the dose residual remaining after administering radiopharmaceutical to a patient. I found that often, the administered dose would be lower than the allowable dose limits.
8. Shadowing:
Internal medicine: 50 hours
Radiology: 40 hours
Nephrology: 50 hours
9. Non-clinical volunteering:
Homeless food drive: 500 hours
Food bank: 70 hours
Health fair volunteer: 8 hours
Recommendation Letters: 2 Science LOR, 1 DO Letter

Please let me know if there is any more information I can provide, thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Apply to all your Texas MD schools and you may receive interviews. However, with a MCAT of 505 you should also apply to DO schools and I suggest these:
TCOM
SAM HOUSTON STATE
UIWSOM
OSU-COM
DMU-COM
ATSU-KCOM
KCU-COM
TUNCOM
ACOM
CUSOM