WAMC? UGA, non-traditional applicant, low-ish experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

peachyp

Reaction score
Hi! This is my first post here so also an intro I guess. I'm currently an architecture student in my last semester of undergrad at a competitive university (Georgia Tech). Prior to this, I was a professional ballerina for a few years after high school before getting injured and having to stop. In high school, I trained full time as a ballet student as well as doing hybrid school/dual enrollment at a local college in order to accomodate my training schedule. As soon as I started I realized I didn't love architecture, but I had a full ride to this great school and I already had made a huge life change so I decided to just go for it. Last year I realized I wanted to pursue vet med and have been taking pre-requisite courses alongside the arch coursework I need to finish my degree (I will finish up this semester so wasn't worth it to switch majors). I still have about 70% of the required coursework left to take, since Chemistry and Biology were not at all part of my major's field of study. I'm hoping I can keep my GPA high for these classes despite my university being rigorous (fingers crossed). I'll be applying for the next round (starting fall 2022).

Cumulative GPA: 3.82
science GPA: currently 4.0 but I haven't taken many of the required classes yet
last 45: currently 3.85

Applying to:
UGA (my in-state), probably NC state and UC Davis too, maybe others

Any degrees achieved-
B.S. Architecture (finishing this semester)

GRE results: 159 Q / 162 V / 4.5 AW

Veterinary Experience:
- currently around 315 hours as a vet assistant at a small animal practice, will continue working here part-time for the forseeable future

Animal Experience:
- around 40 hours at a rabbit shelter as a volunteer (will do more hours here) (not sure if this counts as exotics?)
- TNR experience with feral cats