What are "good" DAT scores?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sopink

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi everyone, I'm new to this message board, but I really wish I had found it about 4 months ago! Anyway, I've already taken the DAT and applied and all of that, but I was wondering, what are good scores? What is outstanding and what is good enough to definitely get you in? The scores I've seen posted all seem really good. I just can't really find anything saying what a good score is. Good job to everyone who posted their scores.

Members don't see this ad.

sopink said:
hi everyone, I'm new to this message board, but I really wish I had found it about 4 months ago! Anyway, I've already taken the DAT and applied and all of that, but I was wondering, what are good scores? What is outstanding and what is good enough to definitely get you in? The scores I've seen posted all seem really good. I just can't really find anything saying what a good score is. Good job to everyone who posted their scores.

I think a good score is 20 and above. 19 may also be considered a good score... it depends on the school.

look at the statistical breakdown of the incoming studnets at dental school of your interest. If you want to go to Howard then a 17 is a good DAT score, if you want to go to UOP, or UCLA, or UCSF, or Harvard then you want to be above a 20.

sopink said:

In my opinion a "good" score is somewhat subjective. I like to equate it like the following:

15AA = C
16AA = C+
17AA = B-
18AA = B
19AA = B+
20AA = A-
21AA = A
22AA = A
23AA = A

Again, this is just my opinion and this is the way I put it into perspective for myself....

Members don't see this ad :)
Generallee said:
In my opinion a "good" score is somewhat subjective. I like to equate it like the following:

15AA = C
16AA = C+
17AA = B-
18AA = B
19AA = B+
20AA = A-
21AA = A
22AA = A
23AA = A