MD What are my chances at these med schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

az345

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I started off at a california community college and transferred to Berkeley. I took phys, chem, ochem, bio, and math at community college and graduated with a 3.61 (3.56 bcpm gpa). My gpa was low b/c I was working almost full time, but yes I know that there are "no excuses." I got my degree from Cal last year in Molecular and Cell Biology (emphasis in cell and developmental biology). Here are my stats:

community college
- 3.61 overall gpa
- 3.56 bcpm
uc berkeley
- 3.73 overall gpa
- 3.8 bcpm

- 34 mcat score

- Overall bcpm (community college + berkeley) 3.63

Right now I'm doing research at berkeley and plan to do shadowing in a few months. I plan on applying next year to around 15-20 schools. Right now I have these schools in mind:

loma linda
UCLA
UC Davis
UC Irvine
USCD
USC
U Nevada
Rosalind Franklin
New York medical college
NYU
Boston U

Ohio State
Drexel
Howard

Which schools do I have a decent shot of getting accepted into?

Members don't see this ad.

Although your GPA is not amazing, I don't think it's necessarily "bad" by any means. On top of that, you have a very competitive MCAT score. So I think academically you are fine. However, your GPA and MCAT is only half of the story. It's hard to say whether you are competitive as an applicant without knowing your other activities. If we assume that you have the "cookie cutter" activities with no red flags or anything, I think you're pretty competitive (granted you apply early).

Make sure the schools you are applying to accept community college credits

Members don't see this ad :)