what are my chances of getting into OT school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

longhorn90

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

Im a male student at The University of Texas at Austin. I will be graduating in December 2012, with my BS in Human Development and Family Sciences.

Right now, I am an intern at a pediatric OT/SLP clinic here in Austin, Texas. I have 150 hours here, as well as 40 hours in a short term rehab center, and 20 in another peds clinic back home.

As of right now, I applied to all 6 schools in Texas (UTHCSCA, UTMB, TWU, TECH, UTEP, and UTPA) and I am applying to 5 more out of state schools through the OTCAS system application.

The thing is my gpa isn't very good. My prerequisite gpa for TWU is a 3.5, and last 60 hours it was around a 3.3. For the other texas programs, my pre-gpa has been around a 3.1-3.3.

My overall gpa is about a 2.9 :/ I had a very difficult for two years of college. My father passed away to lung cancer and my mother struggled financially every day.

My personal statement is where i explained my hardships and my interest and devotion to becoming an OT. I have also had a few mentor and peer coaches revise and edit my paper.

I am applying to several out of state programs that have minimum overall gpa admissions of 2.5, 2.7, 2.8 and so for.

Are my chances of getting in somewhere ok at least?

Any info/advice would be appreciated.

Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

Hi there!